Skip to Content

Sentinel Event Statistics

Sentinel Events Reported by Private Hospitals in 2021

Sentinel Events Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
1 Surgery / interventional procedure involving the wrong patient or body part - - - - - - - - - - - -
2 Retained instruments or other material after surgery / interventional procedure - - - 1 (0) - - - - - - 1(0) 2(0)
3 ABO incompatibility blood transfusion - - - - - - - - - - - -
4 Medication error resulting in major permanent loss of function or death - - - - - - - - - - - -
5 Intravascular gas embolism resulting in death or neurological damage - - - - - - - - - - - -
6 Death of an in-patient from suicide (including home leave) - - - - - - - - - - - -
7 Maternal death or serious morbidity associated with labour or delivery - - - - - - - - - - - -
8 Infant discharged to wrong family or infant abduction - - - - - - - - - - - -
9 Other adverse events resulting in permanent loss of function or death (excluding complications) - - - - - - - - - - - -
* Number of fatal cases is indicated in bracket.

Summary of Sentinel Event in April 2021:

The Department of Health (DH) received a notification of a sentinel event from a private hospital on 4 April 2021. The event involved retained guidewire in a central venous catheter in an 82-year-old male patient which was revealed on 4 April 2021. The DH initiated investigation immediately and requested the hospital to submit an investigation report in four weeks. The hospital has submitted the investigation report to the DH. After examining the information provided by the hospital, the DH considered there was no evidence of non-compliance with the requirements of the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance (Cap.633) or the Code of Practice for Private Hospitals in respect of accommodation, staffing or equipment, which contributed to the happening of the event.

Summary of Sentinel Event in November 2021:

The DH received notification of a sentinel event from a private hospital on 29 November 2021 involved retention of foreign body suspected to be a retained instrument in a 44-year-old female patient who had undergone laparoscopic surgery at the Hospital in 2015. The foreign body was removed by laparoscopy in the concerned private Hospital. DH initiated investigation immediately and requested the hospital to submit an investigation report in four weeks. The hospital has submitted the investigation report to DH. After examining the information provided by the hospital, DH considered there was no evidence of noncompliance with the applicable requirements, including the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance (Cap.633), Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Maternity Homes Registration Ordinance (Cap.165), and the relevant Code of Practice in respect of accommodation, staffing or equipment, which contributed to the happening of the event.

Summary of Sentinel Events in December 2021:

The DH received notification of two sentinel events from two private hospitals on 1 and 4 December 2021 respectively. The first event involved retention of instrument in a 69-year-old male patient who had undergone surgery at the hospital in November 2020. The second event involved a retained gauze in the vagina of a 24-year-old female patient who had given birth at the hospital in October 2021.

The DH initiated investigation immediately and requested the hospitals to submit an investigation report in four weeks. Both hospitals have submitted the investigation report to DH. After examining the information provided by the hospital, DH considered there was no evidence of noncompliance with the applicable requirements, including the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance (Cap.633), Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Maternity Homes Registration Ordinance (Cap.165), and the relevant Code of Practice in respect of accommodation, staffing or equipment, which contributed to the happening of the event.

Serious Untoward Events Reported by Private Hospitals in 2021

Serious Untoward Events Jan-Mar Apr-Jun Jul-Sep Oct-Dec
1 Medication error which could have led to death or permanent harm or carries a significant public health risk 1(0) 2 (0) 3(0) 2(0)
2 Patient misidentification which could have led to death or permanent harm - - - -
* Number of fatal cases is indicated in bracket.

Highlight in first quarter of 2021

In the first quarter of 2021, one serious untoward event (SUE) of medication error was reported by private hospitals. The case involved erroneous administration of a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug to a patient with known drug allergy.

Highlight in second quarter of 2021

In the second quarter of 2021, two SUEs of medication error were reported by private hospitals. The first event involved a patient who was administered with wrong infusion rate of inotropic/ vasopressor medication. The second event involved a patient who was administered with wrong dosage of inotropic/ vasopressor medication.

Highlight in third quarter of 2021

In the third quarter of 2021, three SUEs of medication error were reported by private hospitals. The two events involved inadvertent administration of insulin and an anaesthetic drug respectively. The third event involved a patient who was administered with a dose of anti-coagulant which was supposed to be discontinued.

Highlight in fourth quarter of 2021

In the fourth quarter of 2021, two SUEs of medication error were reported by private hospitals. The first event involved erroneous administration of an antibiotics to a patient with known drug allergy. The second event involved a patient who was erroneously administered with an oral hypoglycemic drug.

Statistics of Sentinel Events and Serious Untoward Events Reported by Private Hospitals in Previous Years

跳至主要內容
Warning: Undefined array key 0 in /www0/maindisk8/orphf/_app/views/partials/_short_qrcode.php on line 10 Warning: Attempt to read property "short_slug" on null in /www0/maindisk8/orphf/_app/views/partials/_short_qrcode.php on line 10 Warning: Undefined array key 0 in /www0/maindisk8/orphf/_app/views/partials/_short_qrcode.php on line 11 Warning: Attempt to read property "short_slug" on null in /www0/maindisk8/orphf/_app/views/partials/_short_qrcode.php on line 11

醫療風險警示事件及重要風險事件統計數字

2021 年私家醫院須呈報醫療風險警示事件統計數字

醫療風險警示事件 一月 二月 三月 四月 五月 六月 七月 八月 九月 十月 十一月 十二月
1 錯誤為病人或某身體部位進行外科手術 / 介入手術程序 - - - - - - - - - - - -
2 進行外科手術 / 介入手術程序後在病人體內遺留工具或其他物料 - - - 1 (0) - - - - - - 1(0) 2(0)
3 進行ABO血型不配合的輸血 - - - - - - - - - - - -
4 錯誤處方藥物引致病人永久喪失主要功能或死亡 - - - - - - - - - - - -
5 因出現血管內氣體栓塞而導致病人死亡或神經損害 - - - - - - - - - - - -
6 住院病人自殺死亡 (包括當時正暫時返家休養的病人) - - - - - - - - - - - -
7 在分娩過程或生產時發生嚴重事件引致孕婦死亡或嚴重疾病 - - - - - - - - - - - -
8 錯配初生嬰兒或發生擄拐嬰兒事件 - - - - - - - - - - - -
9 導致病人永久喪失功能或死亡的其他不良事件(不包括併發症) - - - - - - - - - - - -
* 死亡個案數字以括號標示

2021年4月醫療風險警示事件摘要

衞生署於2021年4月4日接到一間私家醫院呈報一宗醫療風險警示事件。事件涉及於2021年4月4日發現遺漏導線於一名82歲男病人的中央靜脈導管內。衞生署在接到呈報後隨即展開調查工作,並要求院方於四星期內提交調查報告。院方已向衞生署提交調查報告。衞生署審視醫院提交的資料後,並無發現證據顯示醫院在房舍、人手、設備方面違反《私營醫療機構條例》(第633章)或《私家醫院實務守則》的要求,因而導致這次事件。

2021年11月醫療風險警示事件摘要

衞生署於2021年11月29日收到一間私家醫院呈報一宗醫療風險警示事件,涉及於2015年在該院接受腹腔鏡手術的一名44歲女病人,有疑似手術工具的異物被遺留在體內。該異物已在涉事私家醫院以腹腔鏡移除。衞生署在接到呈報後隨即展開調查工作,並要求院方於四星期內提交調查報告。院方已向衞生署提交調查報告。衞生署審視醫院提交的資料後,並無發現證據顯示醫院在房舍、人手、設備方面違反適用的的要求,包括《私營醫療機構條例》(第633章)、《醫院、護養院及留產院註冊條例》(第165章)及相關實務守則,因而導致這次事件。

2021年12月醫療風險警示事件摘要

衞生署分別於2021年12月1日及4日收到兩間私家醫院呈報兩宗醫療風險警示事件。第一宗事件涉及於2020年11月在該院接受手術的一名六十九歲男病人,有手術工具被遺留在體內。第二宗事件涉及於2021年10月份於醫院分娩的一名24歲女病人,有紗布被遺留在陰道。

衞生署在接到呈報後隨即展開調查工作,並要求院方於四星期內提交調查報告。院方已向衞生署提交調查報告。衞生署審視醫院提交的資料後,並無發現證據顯示醫院在房舍、人手、設備方面違反適用的的要求,包括《私營醫療機構條例》(第633章)、《醫院、護養院及留產院註冊條例》(第165章)及相關實務守則,因而導致這次事件。

2021 年私家醫院須呈報重要風險事件統計數字

重要風險事件 一月至三月 四月至六月 七月至九月 十月至十二月
1 可導致死亡或永久受損或具重大公共衛生風險的錯誤處方藥物 1(0) 2 (0) 3(0) 2(0)
2 可導致死亡或永久受損的錯辨病人身分事件 - - - -
* 死亡個案數字以括號標示

2021年第一季摘要

在2021年第一季,私家醫院共呈報了一宗涉及錯誤處方藥物的重要風險事件。事件涉及錯誤處方非類固醇消炎止痛藥給一名曾有過敏史的病人。

2021年第二季摘要

在2021年第二季,私家醫院共呈報了二宗涉及錯誤處方藥物的重要風險事件。第一宗事件涉及一名病人經錯誤輸液速度接受強心/升壓藥物。第二宗事件涉及一名病人接受錯誤劑量的強心/升壓藥物。

2021年第三季摘要

在2021年第三季,私家醫院共呈報了三宗涉及錯誤處方藥物的重要風險事件。第一及第二宗事件涉及病人分別被錯誤注射胰島素及麻醉藥物。第三宗事件涉及一名病人被處方本應停用的抗凝血藥物。

2021年第四季摘要

在2021年第四季,私家醫院共呈報了二宗有關錯誤處方藥物的重要風險事件。第一宗事件涉及錯誤處方抗生素給一名曾有過敏史的病人。第二宗事件涉及一名病人接受錯誤處方口服糖尿藥物。

於往年私家醫院須呈報的醫療風險警示事件及重要風險事件統計數字