Skip to Content
Regulation of Private Healthcare Facilities

Regulation of Private Healthcare Facilities

Advisory Committee

Background and Functions

The Advisory Committee for Regulatory Standards for Private Healthcare Facilities (Advisory Committee) was established in accordance with the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance (Cap. 633) with effect from September 1, 2020, for a term of three years.

The Advisory Committee comprises members from the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine and its constituent colleges, the Hospital Authority, and representatives from academia, private hospitals as well as registered medical practitioners' and dentists' associations. It is tasked to advise the Director of Health on matters relating to the regulation of private healthcare facilities. The terms of reference of the Advisory Committee are:

  • To devise, review and update the standards of regulation for private healthcare facilities;
  • To make recommendations on the Codes of Practice for private healthcare facilities issued by the Director of Health;
  • To advise on matters relating to licensing, regulation and compliance of private healthcare facilities under the Private Healthcare Facilities Ordinance; and
  • To advise on any other matters with respect to enhancing safety and quality standards of private healthcare facilities through regulation.


Professor Raymond LIANG Hin-suen, S.B.S., J.P.


Dr. CHAN Kui-fat
Dr. CHAN Wai-lam
Dr. Johnny CHAN Wai-man
Dr. David CHAO Vai-kiong
Dr. CHENG Pak-man
Dr. CHOW Yu-fat
Professor Edward LAI Cheuck-seen
Dr. May LAM Mei-ling
Dr. LAW Chun-key
Dr. LEE Koon-hung
Dr. LEUNG Tse-ngong
Dr. Vincent LEUNG Tze-ching
Professor Philip LI Kam-tao
Dr. WONG Yiu-kai
Dr. John WOO Kong-sang
Dr. Clara WU Wing-yee

Co-opted Members

Professor CHAIR Sek-ying
Dr. Gabriel CHOI Kin
Dr. William HO Shiu-wei, J.P.
Dr. Samuel KWOK Po-yin
Dr. Jeffrey LAI Cing-hon
Dr. Katherine LEUNG Chiu-man
Dr. Raymond LO See-kit
Professor Enders NG Kwok-wai
Dr. Century TSANG Hin-kei
Dr. Victoria WONG Wing-yee
Dr. WU Chee-wo